Whoa! I had no idea what I was getting myself into when a friend started talking to me about green smoothies. Guess she didn’t notice the plate of salad, greens, mac & cheese, friend chicken and a biscuit I was holding. (Did we really need to have this conversation now?)

I tried to recall if I’d actually had a green smoothie in the past, confusing it with a green drink I sometimes make using the juicer. (BIG DIFFERENCE!) In fact, the last time I tried a green smoothie – I HATED it! The guy working the counter of a popular juice bar tried to warn me, but oh no! I was not having it. No, literally, I wasn’t having it. I handed the smoothie back to him and asked for something else. It tasted terrible.

Several months later, there I was, faced with the proposition of another green smoothie. I wasn’t sure I would try it, but after watching a video clip of JJ Smith’s, 10-Day Green Smoothie Cleanse – http://www.nbcwashington.com/news/local/Nutritionist-JJ-Smith-Shares-10-Day-Smoothie-Cleanse-Recipes-250635741.html, I decided to start today.

I checked the fridge: spinach, strawberries, frozen blueberries, green apples, and mango. I threw the produce into the blender with water and ice cubes, and added a tiny bit of Truvia. It was tasty. So good in fact that after testing it on my guinea pig, I mean – after sharing it with my son – he asked for more.

Green breakfast smoothie – CHECK! Morning workout – CHECK! I was off to a great start. Next stop: Target to buy some of the items for my green lunch smoothie. This isn’t too bad, I thought. But things were about to get ugly.

I was walking toward the front of the store when the aroma of frying meat invaded my nostrils. I practically ran through the automatic doors before I realized I had forgotten the bananas, and that I’d better slow down before security stopped me for questioning.

The lunch smoothie wasn’t as good as the breakfast one. It included spring mixed greens and pineapple. It was greener, but it kind of tasted like dirt. It wasn’t quite 12:00 p.m., and I’d already finished lunch. (sigh)

I’d planned to strictly adhere to the “smoothies only diet” until dinnertime, but I wound up eating a few additional fruits and vegetables. I did find the smoothies to be much more satisfying than juicing. Another bonus: I drank GALLONS of water.

I don’t know if what I did could be considered a 1-day cleanse, but I plan to try it again tomorrow. Maybe I’ll be able to resist the call of Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Roasted Pistachio Toffee. Today, I wasn’t able to.

 

 

 

