It may not be age-appropriate “quite” yet, but I found the AARP blog: 11 Things We Didn’t Know Last Week, and thought it would fun to create my own: 10 Things I Didn’t Know Last Week. Looks like I knew one MORE thing than AARP knew.

IMG_4461

1.  When selecting a prom dress, be careful when purchasing from Vogue Prom Dresses online. The dress may be unwearable or “not as pictured,” forcing you to scramble to find your 16 year-old another dress, costing upwards of $500. She won’t be crying anymore, but you will.

2.  The word discipline, when used in Hebrews 12, means “to train” not “to punish”. I think many of us think it means something altogether different.

MJ-Xscape-STANDARD-Digital-Packshot

3.  Michael Jackson, like Tupac, is still releasing music.

4.  The term “LARPer,” was used to describe a male, walking around outdoors, dressed as a witch hunter. The acronym LARP stands for Live Action Role Playing.

5.  While still scratching my head on that one, my son pointed out that the guy was more-than-likely a COSPLAYer, someone  who blends costume and play.  I’m still not quite sure I understand the difference between t#4 and #5, but I’m okay with that.

Lizzie Biscuits as Madame Vastra and Victoria Kahl as Jenny Flint at the Sci-Fi Weekender. Photographs: Peter Gatehouse
Photographs: Peter Gatehouse. From http://www.theguardian.com.

6.  Major-league baseball players can choose to have whatever kind of music they want, playing as they walk up to bat. I’d love to have a theme song playing as I walked into Lord & Taylor.

Zombies made of simulated undead military prepare to eat their latest victim at Transit Center Manas, Kyrgyzstan, on Oct. 31, 2013. The "zombies" were servicemember volunteers dressed up for the Transit Center celebration of Halloween for a "zombie run" in Frunze Forest. ROBERT BARNETT/U.S. AIR FORCE (Stars & Stripes)

ROBERT BARNETT/U.S. AIR FORCE (Stars & Stripes)

7.  The Pentagon has a plan to stop the zombie apocalypse. Did we pay for that?

wmagazine via Tumblr
wmagazine via Tumblr

8.  Gugu, short for Gugulethu, means “our pride”.  After seeing Belle, I think she is well-suited for her name.

9.  MERS, the Middle East Respiratory Syndrome, is a viral respiratory illness that first surfaced in Saudi Arabia in 2012. 

jjsmith

10. I DO like green smoothies, but I’m not giving up the coffee. Sorry JJ!

 

 

 

 

 

 

