Proof positive that texting isn’t always the best way to communicate.

May 11, 2014; 9:41 p.m.
INCOMING TEXT:  Happy Mother’s Day Mrs. Hutchinson. I hope you had a glorious day. Richard.
AT-HOME CONVERSATION (ME): I just got a text from Richard, but he called me Mrs. Hutchinson. We know “two” Richards, and neither calls me that (name). Now I don’t know whom to thank.

Five days later, around 6:00 p.m.
AT-HOME CONVERSATION (JEFF): I visited the clinic today to (blah, blah, blah). Richard is back in town, but I didn’t get to see him.
(ME): I’ll bet THAT Richard sent the text. But why would he call me Mrs. Hutchinson?
(JEFF): Maybe he didn’t know how to spell your first name.
(ME): But wouldn’t he have called me “Dee?” At least now I can text him back.

6:51 p.m.
OUTGOING TEXT: Hey thank you! It was great. Are u in town?
INCOMING TEXT: Yes I am. How are you guys???

8:52 p.m.
OUTGOING TEXT: Whew! I am not used to you calling me Mrs. Hutchinson. Lol. I thought you called me Dee. We are well. How ling (typo – I meant “long”) are you here? Would love to see you.

(At this point, I have no idea that I have just told my friend’s husband that I would love to see him. This could have ended poorly.)

9:57 p.m.
INCOMING TEXT: I am in town the next couple weeks. End of year school activities (which should have been my clue) along with a few meetings sprinkled throughout. What are you guys plans next weekend. I will check but I THINK we are free.

May 18; 11:42 a.m.
OUTGOING TEXT: Memorial Day weekend looks good for us minus a few kid things during the day. Did you check with Miles’ schedule? (I’m sure “Rich” wondered who Miles was, but dismissed it as some weird auto-correct for Val, the name of his wife.)

May 20; 4:39 p.m.
INCOMING TEXT: How about a cookout.

10:05 p.m.
OUTGOING TEXT: Sounds good. Let me know the deets and what you’d like us to bring.

More than a week of texting, and we’ve made plans to join Richard and Miles for a cookout. Right?

…Well, not exactly.

Next day; 10:03 a.m.
PHONE CONVERSATION (Val): So we’ll see you this weekend, right?
(Me): What’s going on this weekend?
(Val): Rich said you guys are coming over for a cook-out.

Sometimes it’s just better to call.

