We just returned from an elementary school spring choral concert. Up until about a month ago, we had no idea that our 10 year-old was even interested in music. But tonight, there he was, along with several other fourth graders performing songs like “Don’t Worry Be Happy” and “My Favorite Things.”

After his performance, the fifth graders took the stage. I have to admit. They sounded much better than their younger cohorts. As their set neared its conclusion, they began to sing, “The Rainbow Connection.”

For those of us who were children when “The Muppet Movie” premiered, but weren’t really paying attention because we were busy being teenagers, the song is what I most remember.

Someday we’ll find it, the rainbow connection.
The lovers, the dreamers and me.
All of us under its spell.
We know that it’s probably magic.
Have you been half asleep and have you heard voices?
I’ve heard them calling my name.

Funny how in one moment: you’re a middle-aged woman at a kids’ concert. A moment later: you’ve become the 11 year-old, the dreamer. Another moment slips by: and you’re back, tearing up as you witness a beauty of which the others are completely unaware.

I wanted to freeze the moments for them. I wanted to tell them not to rush through life and not to look past the present. I wanted the song to last forever because in that moment, in their voices, I was young again.

Then the song was over; the connection was lost.

