With my birthday quickly approaching, I thought it might be fun to take a look at some of the “others” turning 50 this year.  Here are twelve of my favorites, ones for each month of the year.

lucky charms    cereal_lucky_the_lepHere is a picture of

the original Lucky Charms cereal box. Back in the day, the Leprechaun would urge moms, “laddies” and “lassies” to buy Lucky Charms, a “most exciting cereal.”

diet pepsi

Ever see the “Mad Men” episode with the Bye-Bye Birdie theme for Patio Diet Cola?
That (actual) drink was the predecessor to Diet Pepsi.

Gilligan's Island

I loved watching “Gilligan’s Island” everyday after school.
The tour boat left from Hawaii, another “50th”.

The Munsters

I preferred The Munsters over the Addams Family, which premiered the same year.

GI JOE

My cousin’s G.I. Joe was MY Barbie’s boyfriend. She preferred him over Ken, who was just too effeminate for her. (Sorry Ken. You know it’s true.)

civil rights

 The Civil Rights Act of 1964

mustang

Who didn’t love (and covet) this car? My uncle had a black one.
It wasn’t a ’64, but it was one of the first-generation Mustangs, built until 1973.

poptart

The original Pop-Tarts weren’t frosted and were available in only four flavors – strawberry, blueberry, brown sugar cinnamon, and apple currant. Now there are 29. I always wanted my mother to buy these, which she rarely did.

Cassius Clay

My dad was a HUGE Cassius Clay fan. Here he is in an upset against Sonny Liston for the World Heavy Weight title in 1964. He changed his name to Muhammad Ali after the win.

Fistful

A Fistful of Dollars was my introduction to Clint Eastwood spaghetti westerns, thanks to my dad. He introduced me to the trilogy, including For a Few Dollars More (1965) and The Good, the Bad and the Ugly (1966). The latter was our favorite.

MLK

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. received the Nobel Prize for Peace at the age of 35.
He was the youngest man to have received the award, but was not the first African American.

Rudolph

Finally, who could resist the stop-motion animation of “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer?”

There’s a complete list at MySA. 

